US sanctions against Russian government debt come into force

US sanctions against Russian sovereign debt began to operate on June 14. They were introduced back in April on charges of cyberattacks, election meddling and others.

American companies are prohibited from directly purchasing Russian debt securities issued by the Central Bank, the NWF or the RF Ministry of Finance. American financial institutions are also prohibited from lending to these organizations in any currency.

The imposition of sanctions on Russian sovereign debt has been discussed since 2017. In August 2019, American organizations were banned from participating in the initial offerings of Russian Eurobonds. After that, the RF Ministry of Finance stopped issuing dollar-denominated securities, keeping only those denominated in euros.

About the impact of sanctions – in the material “b” “Sanctions in support of the non-greedy.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.