The European Commission assessed the possibility of banning the issuance of visas to Russians

There will always be categories of people who should be given visas. On Thursday, July 28, the European Commission told Izvestia about this, noting that, for example, they cannot refuse to receive a Schengen in humanitarian cases, commenting on the idea of ​​Estonia to prohibit the issuance of visas to Russian citizens at the EU level.

At the same time, the EC pointed out that the members of the European Union have the right to stop issuing long-term visas.

“EU countries have the right to reduce or stop issuing long-term visas and residence permits in accordance with their national legislation. As for short-term visas (with a stay of no more than 90 days within any 180-day period – Ed.), EU countries must consider and decide on applications for short-term Schengen visas, ”the European Commission explained.

The Permanent Mission of the European Union in Moscow noted that so far there has been no discussion at the EU level regarding a ban or restrictions on the issuance of Schengen visas to Russian citizens, adding that “member states are free to raise this issue in Brussels at any time.”

Earlier, on July 25, Estonian Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said that Tallinn was preparing a proposal to stop issuing Schengen visas to Russians at the EU level. The minister promised to present it within a few weeks, the Estonian national broadcaster ERR reported.

On the same day, the Acting Prime Minister of Finland, Minister for EU Affairs and State Property Tytti Tuppurainen said that the country’s authorities do not plan to stop issuing visas to Russians. This issue should be resolved at the level of the EU and the Schengen countries, she said.

At the same time, some parties in Finland called for the termination of the issuance of tourist visas to Russian citizens. According to the statement, this measure must be taken in response to the special operation launched by the Russian Federation to protect Donbass.

To date, Austria, Hungary, Greece, Germany, Spain, Italy, Norway, Slovenia, Finland, France, Sweden, and Switzerland continue to issue visas to Russians. However, due to the lack of consular staff at the visa application centers, it is becoming increasingly difficult to obtain documents.


Leave a Reply