Gergiev announced the names of the laureates-conductors of the International Rachmaninov Competition in the specialty

International Rachmaninoff Competition/Alexander Shapunov

International Rachmaninoff Competition/Alexander Shapunov

1st Prize and Gold Medal: Philip Selivanov / Russia and Gurgen Petrosyan / Russia

II prize and silver medal: Clement Noncieu / France and Ivan Nikiforchin / Russia

III Prize and Bronze Medal: Arseniy Shuplyakov / Russia and Haoran Li / China

IV Prize and Diploma – not awarded

5th Prize and Diploma: Alexey Morgunov / Russia

VI Prize – not awarded

25 conductors participated in the competition. The first two rounds were held in the format of an open rehearsal. Conductors performed with the State Capella of Russia (I round) and BSO im. P. I. Tchaikovsky (II round). In the third round, the finalists conducted the Mariinsky Theater Orchestra with a program from Rachmaninov’s Symphony and Piano Concerto.

The contestants were judged by a jury consisting of: Valery Gergiev (Chairman), Cesar Alvarez, Christian Knapp, Tao Lin, Fabio Mastrangelo, George Pehlivanyan, Valery Polyansky, Alexander Sladkovsky, Vladimir Fedoseev, Christopher Chen.

Leave a Reply