They wanted to unite Latin America according to the principle of the European Union

Ecuadorian President Guillermo Lasso proposed to build the integration of Latin American countries on the principle of the European Union. With a corresponding statement he made on September 18 at the opening of the summit of the Community of Latin America and the Caribbean (CELAC). His words are quoted by the website of the Ecuadorian government.

According to Lasso, each country in the region must learn to perceive the problems of other states as their own.

He believes that cooperation between Latin American countries should be arranged more pragmatically, with an emphasis on economic relations, rather than political differences, since this will allow the creation of a common market and “build up wealth.”

This, the Ecuadorian leader believes, will help the bloc countries in the future to gain the attention of the rest of the world, as well as political influence.

“When the world feels the roar of the engines of our union and realizes that we really use all our cultural values ​​and strengths, it will listen to us. The voice of our economic growth will sound more eloquent and convincing than any joint statement we make. “, – said Lasso.

As an example, he stated that the countries of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), which, in addition to the states of the region include the United States, Canada and a number of EU members, managed to get more than 80% of their citizens vaccinated against COVID-19.

“It shows what happens when we talk and cooperate, regardless of the ideological club or party etiquette.”, – he concluded.

Lasso took office as President of Ecuador on May 24, 2021. The head of the Latin American state noted that he was going to closely integrate the country into the international trading system through the development of bilateral relations with key countries and regional integration.

CELAC was founded in 2011 in Venezuela, the community unites all the countries of South and North America, except for the USA and Canada.

ECLAC members are 33 states of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as 11 countries in Europe, Asia and North America, including the USA, Great Britain, France, the Netherlands and Canada.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *